BFG 7950GT card with 8800GT drivers already installed.
I have been running a Geforce 8800GT for several years and yesterday it decided to give up the ghost. After determining that the card was toast, I dug up my previous video card - a BFG 7950GT PCI-E.

I installed the card, booted the machine (Windows XP SP3) and proceeded to install the original drivers (93.71) and restarted. Everything came up fine and the display is excellent. Now, the question is this:

I had been playing Skyrim with my 8800GT and over time had installed all the current drivers which are all still located in my Nvidia folder on the C: drive. Right now, DX 9c is installed and working correctly however I still have Physx System Software, Nvidia nTune, nView, and Nvidia update elements from my 8800 installed as well as the old driver that is powering the 7950 at the moment.

The reason I did not uninstall these elements when I put in the 7950 is because when I was having problems with my failing 8800, I tried to roll back from the 296.10 driver set to the previous 295.73 drivers but in the process something buggered and I was not able to uninstall everything nor was I able to reinstall 295.73 [u]or[/u] 296.10 from new downloaded packages; so I was stuck with some blend of junk and one half of a screen display. You may be familiar with the problem "Access has been denied" when installing Nvidia drivers, well, that's the one I experienced so when I put in the 7950, I just didn't want to take chances with the old driver not being allowed or fail to install because I tried to remove all the 8800's software.

So, can I now install the 296.10 over top of what I have and expect that all elements will be associated with the 7950 WITHOUT having to uninstall several of those same elements first? In other words, I want to download the 296.10 package, click it and hope to see it install the new drivers to the 7950 and connect all the other elements so that I can use them.