what are the benefits of running two cards in sli
I am a novice at pc's but maybe someone can help me with a very stupid question. I am planning on building my very first gaming rig and was thinking about getting two. evga GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 2GB cards and was wandering what exactly is sli and what are the benefits of it. once again stupid question but what a better way to learn than ask the tech savvy personally
I am a novice at pc's but maybe someone can help me with a very stupid question. I am planning on building my very first gaming rig and was thinking about getting two. evga GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 2GB cards and was wandering what exactly is sli and what are the benefits of it. once again stupid question but what a better way to learn than ask the tech savvy personally

Posted 01/26/2012 02:26 AM   
Most general consumers view it as a manner of increasing FPS drastically. However, those who are well educated know that FPS over 60 is usually wasted performance as monitors usually cannot display more then 60 fps unless it's a 120hz display, usually used for 3D technologies. Therefore, most enthusiasts use SLi if they play a set of games that they believe require a higher level of performance, to increase[u] minimum[/u] frame rates, then one card can provide, when maxed out. For example, Battlefield 3 cannot be maxed out on one card, however, buying a two card solution is a lot of money to spend for only one game, so it's up to the consumer, based on the games they play, whether it's worth it to them.