Fixed my PC Hangs w 8600GT PC freezes with 8600GT drivers
I see a bazillion posts here and on the web for [b]lock ups, freezes, and hangs [/b]with upscale nVidia graphics boards. I fixed mine and thought maybe someone could benefit from my experience. My PC would lock up every 1-3 minutes with an 8600GT graphics card installed. It would lock up in menus, Word, anything. Hardware reset reboot was the only option then.

I needed to upgrade my [b]eVGA 6800 [/b]graphics card I have been using for 2 years. I bought an [b]MSI 8600GT[/b], installed it, and spent 2 days trying to debug the hangs. I installed the latest nVidia drivers (nVidia VGA drivers 6 7 8 series 169.21_forceware_winxp_32bit) several times. I did find IRQ conflicts with my SoundBlaster card and 8600GT, and fixed that easily enough. But the MSI 8600GT never worked so I sent it back for a refund.

I then bought an [b]XFX 8600GT [/b]and the same thing happened. When I deleted all the nVidia display drivers via control panel and prevented Window’s “found new hardware” from reloading them, the hangs went away but the raw video was poor.

I am not 100% sure how I fixed it. I did a couple things and then the hangs went away. One thing I did was download & reload the drivers for my SoundBlaster Audigy but I’m 95% sure I reloaded the ones already installed. I also installed RivaTuner 2.6 and ran it but I did not make any changes, just stared at the displays. The third thing I did probably fixed it.

I found an idea in the nVidia release notes on the 169 build (thanks XFX website). Way down in the text it said “AMD K7 and K8 CPUs freeze with these drivers”. The Microsoft fix says it’s for AGP mobos with K7 or K8 AMD CPUs. [b]None of the Microsoft fix criteria matches my PC. I tried it anyway and the problem went away.[/b]
For the record, it is [u][b]Microsoft Support Article ID: 270715 January 27, 2007[/b][/u]