How to make Nvidia GPU primary?
I'm going to be honest upfront, while I love my games, I'm not very good with the behind the scenes, drivers and hardware side of things. A few days ago my laptop completely crashed (ASUS with Windows 10), as far as I understand we basically had to completely reinstall windows back to factory settings. This laptop has two GPUs. An Nvidia GForce GTX 850M, and and Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600. Before the crash it was using the Nvidia card, after fixing it, it seems to have reverted to using the Intel one. Even if i disable the Intel card it doesnt seem to make it use the NVidia one, as I cant access the Nvidia control panel, as it says I'm not using a display using the Nvidia GPU. Trying to play Witcher 3 its running at 1FPS on the lowest settings i can possibly get. Any advice how to make it use the Nvidia card?
I'm going to be honest upfront, while I love my games, I'm not very good with the behind the scenes, drivers and hardware side of things.

A few days ago my laptop completely crashed (ASUS with Windows 10), as far as I understand we basically had to completely reinstall windows back to factory settings.

This laptop has two GPUs. An Nvidia GForce GTX 850M, and and Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600.
Before the crash it was using the Nvidia card, after fixing it, it seems to have reverted to using the Intel one. Even if i disable the Intel card it doesnt seem to make it use the NVidia one, as I cant access the Nvidia control panel, as it says I'm not using a display using the Nvidia GPU. Trying to play Witcher 3 its running at 1FPS on the lowest settings i can possibly get.

Any advice how to make it use the Nvidia card?

Posted 12/06/2017 11:18 PM   
the gtx 850 isn't being used because its either dead or so faulty its code 43'd.
the gtx 850 isn't being used because its either dead or so faulty its code 43'd.

In Memory of Chris "ChrisRay" Arthington, 1982-2010

Specs: